Skip to content

The hidden Blog Tour. Guest post by Emma Kavanagh – My Book Deal Moment

April 7, 2015

I am delighted to host Emma Kavanagh’s latest stop on her blog tour for her new novel, hidden which I review next week.

After graduating with a PhD in Psychology from Cardiff University, Emma Kavanagh spent seven years working as a police and military psychologist, training firearms officers, command staff and military personnel, throughout the UK and Europe, to deal with the most extreme situations. An expert in her field, she now applies her knowledge to her writing.

hidden will be published on 23 April. There’s a sneak preview link at the bottom of this post.

 

 

hidden

HE’S WATCHING

A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He’s unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently.

Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman – before it’s too late.

SHE’S WAITING

To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety – both for her, and her young niece who’s been recently admitted. She’s heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he?

As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman’s next target will be. But he’s there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks…

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

Emma talks about the nerve-racking business of  getting her first book deal

My Book Deal Moment

I cannot talk about this day without getting teary. Largely because it had begun to feel like it would never happen. I had been signed by my agent – the extraordinarily wonderful Camilla Wray at the Darley Anderson Literary Agency – on a previous book which failed to find a publisher. It’s never easy when you come to the realisation that the book you have spent so many months writing and cultivating is not going to be THE book. I won’t lie. There were tears. Many tears. I was pregnant at the time with my eldest son, so I’m going to blame the lions share of the tears on that. Hormones. Psh!

When my son was three months old, I began again, over the coming months writing the book that would become Falling.

I was terrified. I had already gone through this once. How on earth was I going to deal with the emotional fall-out of hearing another no on another book?

Falling had been out on submission for a couple of weeks. It had come close, but so far no cigar. I was starting to crumble. On what would turn out to be the day before my book deal day, I went out for lunch with my sister in law. Reader, I cried. She held my hand and told me that everyone believed in me and that I could do it. I cried a bit more.

The following day, I was bundling my then 18 month old up ready to take him to his grandparents. Leaving the house is always a trauma, and it was chaos as usual when my phone began to ring in my pocket, with Camilla saying that an editor wanted to talk to me. I have a vague recollection of my son being under the dining table at the time trying to hand feed cheerios to the cat. We set up a time for the phone call and I carried on with my day, with only the sketchiest of understandings about what was to come.

Then came the call with Jenny Geras. I was shaking. We talked for a while about the edits that would need to be done, chatted generally and got a feel for one another, and I hung up feeling pretty elated. An editor had called me. AN EDITOR! I wasn’t expecting to hear anything else that week, had been told these things take time.

But a couple of hours later, Camilla called back. Jenny at Arrow had offered me a two book deal. I was going to be a published author.

Yes.

Yes, I cried.

Emma Kavanagh 2014  Matthew Jones

Author Emma Kavanagh (c) Matthew Jones

Praise for Emma’s first book: Falling

‘A brilliant debut’
Marie Claire

‘We predict big things for Emma Kavanagh … addictive’
Good Housekeeping

‘Kavanagh tells the story with great verve, weaving the strands of her story expertly’
Daily Mail

‘Dark, tense and convincing, this is a brilliantly executed and engrossing thriller.
An extremely assured debut’
Sunday Mirror

‘an up-all-night thriller, fuelled by grief, anger and infidelity’
Book of the Month, You Magazine, Mail on Sunday

‘swift-moving crime tale’
Independent on Sunday

A gripping psychological page-turner’ 4 stars,
Closer

‘A stark and dramatic thriller’
My Weekly

‘complex thriller from a former police psychologist, who knows her stuff’
Prima

‘separate strands are neatly woven into a gripping, credible human story’
Literary Review

‘Thoughtful, often dark and devastatingly honest … Falling marks the arrival on the crime scene of a major new talent’
SHOTS Magazine

You can read an extract from hidden here : http://www.deadgoodbooks.co.uk/index.php/extract-hidden-emma-kavanagh/

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

mamalovestoread.co.uk

Reading and journaling my way through parenthood

Dressed To Read

Book Blogger

A Listener's Slant

A journey through the world of audiobooks...

Novel Deelights

Escaping reality one book at a time

Kristen Twardowski

A Writer's Workshop

the owl on the bookshelf

Book reviews, guest posts, subscription box unboxings and all things bookish.

LITERARY TITAN

Book Review

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

damppebbles

#crimefiction blog featuring reviews, author guest posts and other fabulous booky things (with the odd psychological thriller and horror novel making an appearance!)

mychestnutreadingtree

My reviews and thoughts about the books i have read

The Belgian Reviewer

The place to discover fine new books to read

Nordic Noir

Exploring Nordic Noir TV Fiction

THERE'S BEEN A MURDER

FOR LOVERS OF CRIME NOIR

Aspen Tree Book Reviews

book reviews galore

Novel Delights

To encourage everyone to share in the delights of books

Always Trust In Books

Everything to do with books. All the time!

